Maps

The map is a combination of the environment scanned by the detection system of the robot and elements added to the map by the user (virtual walls and/or POIs). The map is filled in by moving the robot (at a reasonable speed) while the additional elements need to be added manually by the user.

  • Move the robot over a section multiple times to clear the 'grey' areas.

  • Rotate the robot in corners or near obstacles to fill in the blank spots on the map.

blankmap

The following steps should be used when creating a new map:

  1. Create a new map

    • Map the environment

    • Add and edit or delete the POIs

    • Add and edit or delete the walls

  2. Save the map

    • Save a copy of the map

  3. Edit the (advanced) settings for the map

Creating a new map

The SLAM-system must be active. This option shouldn’t be used when the robot (and particularly the mapping system) is on standby.
If available, connect the robot to the charging station before creating a new map.
It is recommended to save the map without any additions (i.e. walls or POIs) and then saving a copy of the map where the objects are added to the map.

Tap the option New in the Map menu to create a new map.

menumapnew
  • It may take a few seconds before the immediate surroundings of the robot are shown on the map.

  • The option 'Scanning mode' will be enabled automatically.

Mapping the environment

Once a new map has been created, the blueprint will only display the immediate surroundings:

Make sure the option 'Scanning mode' is enabled in the control to update the map.
blankmap

Undocking from the charging station

When moving the robot away from the charging station, the robot will always move to a safe undocking point. Do not move the robot with the manual controls while the robot is moving to said location.

mapundocklocation

Mapping the rest of the environment

Use the movement controls to move the robot manually and fill in the map.

partialmap
If the robot hasn’t been moving for more than 60 seconds, the 'Scanning mode' will be disabled.
  • It is recommended to move the robot slowly while creating the map. Some slam-systems only update the map every second, and some gaps may occur if the robot is moving too fast.

  • The map will only be updated if the option 'Scanning mode' is enabled.

See the chapter Mapping guide for the next step(s).

Toggle scanning system

Scanning in this context implies the updating of the map based on the data of the navigation/mapping system installed on the robot.

Switching modes

Tap the option 'Navigation mode' or 'Scanning mode' at the top of the page to display the following options:

navselection

Navigation mode

Tap the option 'Navigation mode' to keep the map as-is and not be updated anymore. This does not imply however that the navigation system and scanning system will be disabled, only that the current map will no longer be updated with the latest information (save for the current location).

The latest data of the scanning system will still be used to navigate around detected obstacles at the time.
It is highly recommended to add virtual walls to the map when using this mode.

Scanning mode

Tap the option 'Scanning mode' to update the map based on the information of the scanning system installed on the robot.

Only use this mode while creating the map. Once the map has been filled in, switch to 'Navigation mode' to move the robot and/or add additional elements to the map.
The scanning mode will disable after 60 seconds of the robot standing still.

Saving the map

Once the map has been filled in and/or the POIs and walls have been added, the map can be saved. Tap the option Save in the menu Map to save the current map.

menumapsave

If the map hasn’t been saved before, a modal will be shown asking for a valid name.

savemapmodal

After saving the map, the 'Navigation mode' will be enabled.

It is recommended to save the map without any additions (i.e. walls or POIs) then saving a copy of the map where the objects can be added to the map.
  • Multiple maps can have the same name. It is highly recommended however to give unique names to the maps.

  • It is recommended to save the blank map (i.e. without additional POIs or walls) more than once.

Saving a copy of the map

Tap the option Save as in the menu Map to save the map with a different name.

menumapsaveas

Enter a valid name in the modal and tap the option Save to store the map using a different name.

savemapmodal
The newly saved copy will be set as the active map.

Enabling (partial) auto-save of the map

In addition to manually saving the map, a feature is available that will automatically save the current map when a POI or wall is added, edited or removed.

Tap the option Auto save in the menu Settings to toggle this feature:

menusettingsautosave

Opening a map

Tap the option Manage in the menu Map to show a list of all the maps stored on the robot.

menumapmanage

Tap on an available map to select it and tap the option Load map to use the selected map.

maplistopen

Tap the icon to close the modal without loading a map.

The robot will be placed on its last known location of the map, regardless of the actual location of the robot. It is therefore highly recommended to place the robot on the charging station when changing maps. To change the position of the robot manually, see the Advanced settings.

The page Localisation and mapping may need to be reloaded before the map is fully shown. To reload, go to another page (steering for example) and return to the Localisation and mapping page.

Deleting maps from the robot

Tap the option Manage in the menu Map to show a list of all the maps stored on the robot.

menumapmanage

Tap the icon md trash next to a map to remove it from the robot after confirming the deletion in the shown modal.

maplistdelete
The current map can’t be deleted.